Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Extreme photography.....

.....I....ahem....'liberated' this one from my Ma's photy stash on Thursday night when I was over there on an undercover birthday visit (she was then/is now a sprightly 86, and doesn't look more than a couple of days over 85.......no honestly, I'm just joking Ma.......what do you mean, 'where's my last will and thingy'......it's somewhere really, REALLY safe, OK?)
.....now, where was I....oh yes....so I'm guessing this one dates from when my Dad was taking fire prevention photographs way back in the dark ages (he was fireman in the Northumberland Fire Brigade in 1952 but he happened to own a 'box brownie'.......apparently that's just about all you needed to be considered almost a professional in those days)....he probably came across this picture in the line of duty and said 'hmmmm....I think I'll have that!'.......it just goes to prove I'm my fathers daughter I suppose........possession being nine tenths of the law and all that.......

The text below is printed on the back......

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Oct. 3rd 1952 PAR 31563-3 (AAP-G)

HOW THEY PHOTOGRAPHED THE BIG BLAST

These pictures show the elaborate Press operation to record photographically the explosion of Britain's first atomic weapon, detonated in the Monto Bello Islands off Australia today (Friday)
Press men set up their specially built cameras 55 miles from the centre of the atomic area about 70 miles down the coast from Roebourne and 130 miles above Onslow.
One and a half tons of equipment was manhandled through razor sharp spinifex to the 250 feet peak of Rough Range, the chosen observation post.
PICTURE SHOWS: A patrolling R.A.A.F. Dakota flies over the camera observation post, set up complete with a mobile darkroom. The camp was an object of interest to the men engaged in the atom test - Rear-Admiral A.D. Torlesse made a special trip in his private plane to view it.
Oct 3rd 1952 PAR 31563-3 (AAP-G)

COPYRIGHT: PA-REUTER PHOTOS, LTD

The rubber stamp at the bottom right reads:

THIS PICTURE HAS BEEN
TELEPHOTOED BY P.A.
BROADCAST TO PROVINCIAL
EVENING PAPERS

-----------------------------------------------------------------

......y'know, I don't generally 'do' political comment, but I'm not convinced we've learned a whole lot in the last 60 years........

Operation Hurricane

PS.....this could be classed as a 'planning' blip, because I typed that lot up yesterday.....I haven't REALLY been up since dawn.....all I did this morning was take a couple of photographs and then stuck them together.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.