Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Let's Go Fly a Kite

There were many more important things going on in the country and the world today, but for me the weekend is nearly always a domestic haven.

3yo was intrigued by the paragliders on the moor, thinking they had giant kites, so she wanted to head out and fly her own kite. We needed to wrap up as the early spring sunshine had left us, but we had a good breeze, and got good flying weather without having to climb right to the top of the hill.  Having said that, that's what we proceeded to do when we had enough of kite flying.

We passed a Kestrel on the way up, and more excitingly saw a a pair of Stonechats on the way down, not too far from home.  I'd thought I'd heard some around this patch of the moor before, but had never managed to clap eyes on them.  Today they hung around long enough for me to snatch a couple of shots which were not up to blip quality, but sufficient to confirm and record their presence, and for me to add them to my personal Baildon Moor bird list.

tethered dragon ~ tail writhing ~ in the wind ~ the grip ~ of strong hands

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.