Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

roygbIv: When Rain Stops, Play

The weather has been comprehensively grey today, interspersed with periods of rain. I was able to get out with the camera only late on after poorly daughter watching. The light was already beginning to fade. I headed back to the river at Dedham, where I was sure to find today's subjects.

After a preen and a douse in the river, a mallard gives a thorough shake of the wings and body. Its the briefest of chances to capture that elusive dash of colour. I waited for quite some time. Luckily the male closest to me chose to start preening his feathers along the top of his back. He was only 2-3 metres away. I lined up the shot. Next followed underwater head bobbing, picking up water and allowing the beads of liquid to run from neck to tail. And finally a few powerful beats of the wing to shake away any remaining drops of water. There it is - INDIGO!! SNAP!!

The shutter speed is slower than I'd have liked, but anything faster would mean buying a new camera or worse, cranking up the ISO and introducing inevitable noise.

I very nearly chose the female shot but she's been enhanced. Anyhow I preferred her natural blue plumage but of course that's no use for an indigo day.

Now where did I leave that camera brochure??? I hope you like it.

For details of the ROYGBIV challenge and its participants, click here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.