Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Don't be a Drip

New Zealand is a country naturally blessed with water. Despite that, this summer is one of the driest on record and many areas are in drought. Not Australian drought levels, but the level to where the grass is no longer green.

Understandably, this is a concern. I mean, how can we live without hosing down the drive to keep it clean?

So of course, governmental powers have devised a campaign to save water, although I was disappointed they missed showering with a friend ...

Being somewhat cynical, although of course I would never be, we do have to wonder why both the local govenment agencies producing this poster endorse large scale irrigation schemes where 50 - 70 litres of water is required to produce just 1 litre of milk. Which we then export.

Don't get me wrong, conserving water, electricity and fossil fuels is very important to me. However, I find the double standard galling, especially when some parts of society are using the free water for pure economic gain.

Yes people, hang up your hoses so those poor farmers can use all the water to line their bank accounts.

Large view here if you'd like to read it.

Edit - you can read all the tips here. You can even submit your own ideas, so I sent in shaun22's. Hahahaha! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.