Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Dawn...

I woke up early this morning, so decided to visit a different section of river to see if I could capture another atmospheric sunrise. I arrived in good time, and found frost on the grass and thick mist in the valley. I waited, getting chillier and chillier....the fog became a little lighter but no sign of the sun.

Eventually, just after seven, the sun appeared over the woods, a dull red ball in the mist. But try as I might, including use of a graduated filter, I couldn't get the colour to register. I guess it was just too bright even then. This photograph was taken a few minutes later, when the sun had suffused the mist with a pinkish glow. The tree in the centre of the photograph is a pollard willow, which has just had all its branches lopped off. They regrow at a remarkable rate, 2-3m in a year is not unusual!

The rest of the day's been fairly quiet for me. Alex had his interview for the Applied Science course at our local college this afternoon. He'd convinced himself that the course wasn't quite right for him, and was veering towards the Countryside Management course at Shuttleworth. But he got on really well with the staff, and particularly his interviewer. Apparently they had a long discussion about the problems of being dyslexic! He was made an offer, subject to passing his English IGCSE, so now he's not sure again. I'll just be glad when it's decided one way or the other!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.