An African Adventure

A while ago I popped into a local yarn shop where this beautiful throw caught my eye. It was draped across a sofa and I realized that it took some doing to get this piece done.

When I went there, again, today, it was still lying over the sofa, and the lady graciously allowed me to photograph it.

It was knitted by one of the store ladies, and I think that she did a very good job. Touching it, it is soft to the touch and feels very cosy, just right for our coming winter.

It is about the size that will fit a double bed, but I guess that it can be made to any size that will accommodate the motifs.

The pattern is available on the internet and was originally designed by Horst Schulz.

Now, I wonder .....


VandeGraaff asked in his comment about the size of a motif, and the portion that I have blipped:

One motif resembles two cupcakes joined at the base, it almost looks like a dumbbell (hand weight) and is roughly the size of the base of a clothing iron.
This item was done in double knitting yarn - 3mm needles!
And the section that I blipped is about 75cmsX50cms ..?
Have a look at this link, there is actually a human hand in this pic that gives a sense of scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.