michigan man

By outdoorguy

Sandhill Cranes

East Bradenton Bird Update;
1. After three attempts, I still have not seen the eagle parents on their nest. Two big brown babies, but parents are sitting on 2 telephone poles perhaps a half-mile away. One of the photogs that was there ( I have lens envy) thought maybe the parents were'nt feeding them as much because they want the babies to leave. There are always questions.
2. Mimi, the Muskovy Duck, is still sitting on her nest on the ground and giving me the stinkeye for getting too close. If I could talk bird talk, I would ask her why she builds her nest 7-8 feet away from a human sidewalk. I would suggest to her that maybe inside a nice thick bush might be better for her and her eggs.
3. Sandy and Sondra Sandhill are still very busy raising little Sarah and Stretch. I finally got a couple pictures of what the parents are digging up. The babies wait pretty patiently while mom and dad dig and dig, and then out of their beaks come a tiny little beetle, or if they're lucky...a big juicy grub. Yummy. The babies are beginning to peck at the ground themselves, without much success.
Perhaps you're wondering why the Eagles did'nt have names. The answer is simple. I did'nt see them up close enough, but the 2 eaglets are Ernie and Edgar. Mom wanted a girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.