While on my runs

By waipushrink

At the end of my run

Having noted that today was about a month after I captured a shot of the moon and Venus from a particular place, I figured that the same shot should be possible (I blipped this one instead). So I chose my course for the morning with that in mind. Moon and Venus together as they were 27 days before; I stood slightly differently and still got a good shot.

Continued with the run, pausing at one point for a motorway shot. As I approached home, walking up the big hill, I could see the same two celestial bodies in a a blue rather than black sky. This was too good to ignore. Came inside, changed cameras, picked up the tripod and outside again onto the streetside. Took a number of pictures. The last shot focussed on the crescent by itself.

After lots of thought, I chose the picture of the crescent with delicate cropping. I was attracted by the earthshine and the crispness of the focus (less good on the others). The repetition from 01 March didn't do it for me, despite being very pleased with it, and it being while on my run. I think that my obsessionality will accommodate this as being a "run photo" given that I was still in my running gear, and it was immediately after getting home.

Despite some moaning by me a couple of weeks ago about the dark, the dark and early mornings do give me opportunities I would not otherwise get. The morning's efforts quite cheered me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.