Tourist

By tourist

New Zealand: South Coast

I left Dunedin this morning and headed towards another Scotland reminding town called Invercargill.

The town was about 300 kilmometres away and was my intended destination to kip at the end of the night, so i thought i'd take things a bit slow today.

Alot of the roads on the south of the south island are gravel and quite often very dangerous to drive on for this reason. I decided i'd take a few random roads off the main road to Invercargill to see what they took me to.

After being in Dunedin and driving along the south coast roads and seeing the Scottish type scenery, i couldn't believe how at home i felt here. The weather today was horrible and the traffic was nearly non existent, so it felt like i was driving through the highlands back home. It's strange how in such a short distance you've got the Rocky mountains and glaciers then you have the amazing green scenery of the south. This truly is a stunning country!

I arrived in Invercargill later than i had hoped due to some silly moves with me in the van on a beach and with a length of rope. This cost me dearly ($$).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.