Pin Oak

Quercus palustris, a native of North America.

My pin oak is on the turn. It's happening very quickly, but not in an orderly fashion. The leaves that get the most sunshine are turning a deep red, while those on the shady side are turning orange. There are still a lot of green leaves left.

This image gave me a headache. I had an idea of what I wanted to do, and when my outdoor work was cut short by rain I hurriedly took some shots of the tree and set about having a go. With only an old version of PhotoShop there were no shortcuts I could take. It was all trial and error. The first completed image was achieved by sheer tedium. This is the third version, which I did in a fraction of the time after discovering better ways of doing things. It may not be a great image, but I am pleased with it because I did it all on my own, with no help or instructions. It took hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.