Kirstie Gossage

By KirstieG

Dorking......

Today has been a long day of driving. Only about 6 or so hours but thats alot for me as I usually work form home and yesterday I had driven to Sheffield.

So today I drove to Dorking for a Marketing meeting (god knows why as I am a PA!). Anyway, Dorking is one of our restaurants that I hadn't been too and its beautiful. Opposite it is a cemetery. It is such a beautiful place. The church there was stunning as you can see a little of.

We live 50 metres from a cemetery at home and I find them lovely places of calm. This one in Dorking was massive and so well kept. The lawns were beautiful and I took so many lovely photos. It has lovely hills and greenery all around it despite being near a road on one side. The grave stones were all dated 1800's - I wonder what lives these people live and what stories they could tell. One of them was a massive plot and there was a big rectangular monument with about 15 names engraved on it all from the same family.

Anyway - I don't really have a very good way with words but it was simply beautiful and I spent a fair while walking round and just being peaceful. When I went back to the restaurant, I think they all thought I was a bit mad when they realised I had been at the cemetery for so long.

I hope the sun shone for you all today x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.