A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Wallflower

I started growing these after a visit to Holy Island a couple of years ago. Some wallflowers were growing among the ruins of the priory and I liked the flowers and the fabulous scent so much I got seeds as soon as possible and planted them.

It has fallen out of favour as a herbal medicine these days due to its high content of cheiranthosides which have a similar effect to digitalis though it is used in Homeopathy (which of course doesn't actually contain any of the ingredient). This didn't stop Culpeper recommending it for cleansething the blood and freething the liver. I suppose if it didn't kill it would have cured! He also declared it to be ruled by the moon.

If I need a pick-me-up I simply go outside and take a good sniff of the flowers. Gorgeous

The sage, curry plant and ivy backdrop will all likely find themselves the subject of blips at some point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.