YACR*

*Yet Another Consulting Room

This morning it was time to see the radiology oncologist, so once again I made my way up to Beaumont Hospital, which is quickly becoming a bit of a second home. We went through much of the stuff I'd already gone over with the urologist, though one or two things became clearer this time. (1) A re-examination suggested that the problem perhaps hasn't spread outside the prostate; (2) I'm to have a CT scan as well as the bone scan and MRI already mentioned; (3) Despite the bad biopsy results, the chances of things having spread is between 20 and 30 percent, which is lower than I'd expected; (4) Undergoing a course of hormone treatment now seems virtually definite, though my cardiologist needs to be brought into the loop because of possible cardiac side-effects; (5) I'm to go back in five weeks, at which time all scan results are to be at hand and a firm decision should be made about the best treatment (today's guy wasn't happy to wait until 31st May for the bone scan, which is the date I've been given).

After this visit I had time for a quick cup of (dreadful) coffee in the hospital restaurant before reporting to Cardiology to have a 24-hour heart monitor fitted. This happened before, as part of the lead-up to cardiac rehab, so I knew the ropes and began right away to keep the detailed diary of activities and symptoms which is part of the monitoring process.

The rest of the day was quiet and lazy. I watched a bit of TV, enjoying my new improved digital signal, including some material in HD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.