The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Home Building

Did someone break the calendar? It's like August the 7th out there today, not April 7th!
The garden is alive with insects!
I've been watching this queen wasp scrapping the wood off this bit of trellis all morning. She is busy making a small nest so that she can lay the workers, who when hatched, will then build the incredible structure that is a wasps nest. It's essentially made of papier machie.
Despite these little insects being just a couple of centimetres long, they turn this 6ft 4" Welshman into a whirling dervish of arms and legs .. I hate the ruddy things! BUT .. I have made a little pledge not to swat them this summer.
You can do the same here ... Stop Swatting Wasps. I, rather bravely released a queen from the kitchen last week. It was a start! I've got to kind of accept that living next to woodlands means that I am going to be visited by quite a lot of insects this summer! You never know, they may appear here!

I know SomeGuyInNJ wanted birds today .. hey this has got wings hasn't it! ;o)

I have other wasp photos at my Flickr site.

Particularly like this one: Wasp Fight

The beauty that is a Wasps Nest.

The Wasp wasn't the only one making homes today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.