Paul Morgans

By BakewellPie

Stone

Today I was out photographing the Peak District, the light was fabulous but kept changing as the clouds came over but when it was good it was very good.
I was going to post one of the landscape shots but decided on this the last shot of the day.
As I was coming down the hill I came across this stone covered in moss.
It's not often that you see something that sums up exactly what you want to say but this stone is exactly what I want to achieve with my pottery.
I know that I will never be the most accomplished and technical potter but I want to be able to make pots and pieces that have the texture and feel this stone has with its amazing colours and textures.
I know that potters always remark how they are inspired by the countryside that they live in and all that stuff, but today this stone made me understand what they say and what I want to do.
A lightbulb moment!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.