Light

I was at the observatory with A and her friend tonight, it was brilliant. I would highly recommend a friday night visit up there.

Sorry blip rant coming up..

What is going on here, when I tell people about blip, I often explain there are two main rules in blip, Primarily the photo we take is taken on the day we say it is, that is fairly easy. Secondly, we are excellent to one another, that would be fairly easy also, you would think. I know there are other rules but these are the two that I think allows blipfoto to stand out and allows me, personally, to be proud to be part of it.

Be excellent to one another, what does that mean ? Does it mean putting photographs of overweight people on our journal and letting the community add comments of ridicule and vitriol.? I think not. What if the barrier being crossed was race, sexuality, mental health, would we so openly add our comments and guffaws. I think not!

I have been here a wee while now and get genuinely saddened when this ridicule goes on from a middle class holier than thou 'Oh look at those people' perspective. It is often not only the person who posts the journal entry but also the comments from people out there who should know better.

My issue with this is when these boundaries are pushed and accepted they will be pushed again, and I am sure you can imagine where that leads.

There you are, rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.