SueScape

By SueScape

Dad and Me

Dad would have been 90 years old today, he died between Christmas and New Year. We planned a big family party so it's a bit of a funny day with just the two of us here.
I wanted to blip something in his memory. As I said yesterday, he was a great gardener and loved flowers, had my eye on a neighbours magnolia for a few days with him in mind. Neighbours have the most beautiful garden imaginable, with a constant planting programme and immaculate everywhere.
We were actually having a cuppa, before blipping this when my sister texted that she had just bought a magnolia to plant in Dad's memory. Weird or what. We often do this kind of thing, even sending the same card.

So here is the Magnolia whose name I found after I'd taken the shot is Susan. More weird or what. Dad only ever called me Susan on special occasions, usually when he had a bone to pick with me and I would get my full given and maiden names. It was a warning, here it comes - always good natured.

Rest in peace, Pop, you deserve it, and thanks for everything.


I have to believe
that love can travel
beyond
to the great open spaces
where he lives,
neither past
nor present
nor future,
but where he just is.

©sue2011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.