The way I see it.

By christinePears

Dinner time on the river.

The sun shone all day!!! It was so wonderful to be on holiday and to be out in my garden. The list of jobs to do is endless but i finished building my stone staircase, did some weeding (delicious - the weeds just pulled out of the ground in a very satisfying way) dug over some very wet ground, dug a bit of a ditch, built a bonfire and moved some plants around. Then It was time to take a rest so I strolled down through the wilderness part of my garden to the river and Clisham the cat followed me. I did not take my camera and so of course a heron flew right past me and another one stood and looked at me from the little island in the middle of the river.

I sprinted back up to the house and fetched the camera and of course as soon as I got back the heron started playing chasing games with me. I walked down the river bank as slowly and quietly as I good with Clisham still following and meowing - "Are herons afraid of cats I wondered?" It all seemed a bit hopeless but I got as close as I could and fired off some shots handheld on max zoom. When I downloaded them I was amazed to see a fish hanging out of the heron's beak!!

So I just had to post it even though it is heavily cropped. Sometimes novelty takes priority over quality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.