Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Other people's art

This morning I headed west to Bristol, to pick up my photograph from the Royal West of England Academy. I was there by 9.30am.

Being too early on a Saturday to do anything very much except take pictures I waited for the two main art spaces to open.

The Arnolfini is showing an installation by Cosima von Bonin, called bone idle, about sloth. I was in the gallery as soon as the doors opened but wasn't expecting to see a white rabbit moving around out of the corner of my eye. I started having flashbacks to Harvey as I've been working very hard of late, then Mark Wallinger.

I waved at the rabbit and said "hello", asked if I could photograph her (as I would of any stranger I was interested in). This would normally be out of the question in a gallery, but on this occasion she was part of an artist residency by Get in the back of the van, who were challenging the etiquette of galleries. So my approach was received warmly by Lucy (the rabbit), artistic director Hester and their colleague Jenny.

Across the dock at Watershed, I was greeted by anther form of unexpected art in the form of collage cut outs decorating the chocolate by Paul Grimmer.

I didn't get to catch up with my friend. Some other time though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.