Beautiful...

3000HP main engine of the famous tugboat Holland, built in 1951 at Ferus Smit shipyard in The Netherlands and saved from the scrapyard by enthousiasts and a lot of supporters of which I'm one.

For these supporters each year a set of weekends in april is reserved to join and make a roundtrip at sea.

Always nice to make such a trip.
I was accompanied by our son Robin who has no binding with the sea but he enjoyed it too.
Although I made a lot of pictures I chose this very technical one.The copper pipe is the coolingwateroutlet. The insulated pipes are for the exhaust gasses.
It's still touches me when I'm standing on top of such an engine and hear the starting air coming into the cilinders.

Here in LARGE....

To give you an idea of the ship, look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.