Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Guinea Fowl For Supper

I heard about a place about a mile west of my place that had live poultry in the back and would kill and clean a bird to order. This is rare in Philadelphia and would be found only in immigrant neighborhoods. This shop is Vietnamese-owned. It took me two tries to locate the place (I was looking for a larger place for some reason; this was very small). I went into the back room where chickens, ducks, and guinea fowl were in cages. The guinea fowl and ducks were in better shape than the chickens, and they were in far less crowded cages.

And so, you know the rest: the employee took the bird in the far-back room and returned with my dinner in a bag. Now it's in the fridge and later tonight, it's in the oven. I have never had such a fresh bird in the United States.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.