Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Eastern osprey

Eastern osprey, (Pandion cristatus) aka (Pandion haliaetus)

What an exciting day it has been. I discovered that a pair of ospreys were nesting in the top of a Norfolk pine tree visible from the holiday accommodation we are staying in at Caloundra, QLD.

I managed pictures of the heads of both birds side by side in the nest, of one on a branch beside the nest, and of one balancing on the highest point of a neighbouring tree (my published blip). I also managed to get one in flight.

Another point of interest was when another pair of osprey flew overhead and the pair gave warning calls to keep away.

When I first saw these birds, I thought they were white-bellied sea-eagles but soon revised that to the correct ID of Eastern Osprey.

I only hope the rest of the week is as exciting as the start has been.

More pictures of these osprey can be seen
on my Flickr site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.