Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Beware - entomologist at work!

Busy day again! I went down to the river early this morning to walk the dogs and photograph snake's-head fritillaries growing in a small area of hay-meadow. They've been there for well over ten years to my knowledge - though no-one seems to know how they got there.The meadow has a good range of characteristic hay-meadow species, and may have been established using seed from the Oxfordshire hay meadows - but no records seem to have been kept!!

Then down to Cambridge Botanic Gardens where Pete was doing some invertebrate survey work. I had plenty of time for photography - and with beautiful spring sunshine, stunning landscaped gardens and a surfeit of flowers, trees and butterflies I took a lot of shots - about 50% of which I've kept.

But this photograph of Pete made me laugh, so that's what I decided to post tonight. He was beating the foliage of a large juniper bush, to extract any insects on the foliage. He didn't realise that it was in flower and releasing huge volumes of pollen. At one point it looked as though the bush was smoking - and several members of the public came over to see what was happening, It's just a good job neither of us suffer from hay-fever!!

Best in large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.