russpix

By russpix

View from the Zoo

Had a few hours to spare before football after work so headed to Corstorphine Hill, where I'd heard there were good views of the city to be had. And I found this vista - which happens to be right behind Edinburgh Zoo. Setting aside my rendering of it here, what a fantastic view of the city. It's a pity the two chimneys of Cockenzie Power Station are right behind the Balmoral Hotel clock tower, but I resisted the temptation to erase them!

I tried a couple of different exposure lengths and different frames (using my new Really Right Stuff ballhead and sticks!) Perhaps it was the fading sun, but this frame looked a bit flat so I processed a 'mild' HDR, and then converted to black and white in Elements to remove the gaudy colours picked up in Photomatix. I like it, though I realise its limitations and the sky's fairly dull - will definitely be back to try some more shots at different times of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.