just be

By justbe

Ceramic center

"Pooh," said Rabbit kindly, "you haven't any brain."

"I know," said Pooh humbly.

Winnie the Pooh



These ceramic planters and vases were all the rage in the 40's and 50's. World War II had virtually closed off the import of giftware from overseas, greatly increasing the demand for domestic items. Vivid colors, as well as a characteristic high gloss glaze, added to the effect. This little rabbit was my grandmothers, she loved planters, jardinières and all manner of pots.


I'm having some very old friends from my summer camp counselor days 42 years ago for lunch today. It's pitch dark, a wild thunderstorm is approaching and I best post this and shut down the Mac. Hopefully the weather will lighten up by mid-day, or this vintage pink rabbit might be the only bright spot in the murky light.

Waiting for the guests, no weather improvements...

Sandwiches

Spinach salad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.