Such a nice day (for drinking tea)

Firstly, I've now changed my nickname or whatever it is from Shadowdancer to Dalaigh. That's because I wanted to add my Irish side here also, and highlighting my northerness sounded a bit unfair, while I'm not all north. I chose Dalaigh as my new nick just because I'd like revere my deceased grandgrandmother, who was a carrier of the surname Ó Dálaigh (anglicized and pronounced O'Daly). Hope you don't become too confused about this change. :)

Next about today. History exam done, so no exams for a while, though. The next and the last period of my 2nd high school year starts tomorrow. It'll certainly be a good period, since there ain't too much dull stuff. The good news are that I'll never again have that bloody school subject called maths. Never. If I want to die because boredom, I'll do that myself by watching Big Brother, thank you very much.

Another great thing is that I successfully completed my driving license today with the lorry driving test. But why the bloody hell everybody's asking me to drive them here and there, from A to B and so on? Argh, annoying. Two kilometres ain't a distance. Neither is four. I can consider five. But maybe not. 10 is still short. Use your feet, anybody? Nah, they're lazy.

Many things and activities are currently stealing a lot of time from me. It's great that school's become more optional these days, so I can concentrate more on those subjects I'm interested in. By the way, I just ordered an entrance examination book for next year. It's called Language: The Basics by R. L. Trask; a book they instruct to read for the English Philology examination in nearly all Finnish universities. I'll read it well next summer, when I'm studying for the English baccalaureate exam, which I've decided to do next Autumn. I haven't forgotten the possibility of applying for a foreign university, but I have to find out more information for that.

I realized that I've nearly completed my high school and I swear it was just a little time ago when I went there. Or was it? However, I don't have many very good memories from there. It has been hard for me to fit in here during these 18 years I've existed. Even though my current nationality is Finnish, there are lots of Finnish habits and manners I've never quite understood. I, for example, can't understand mocking as humor, because it's disgusting. I wouldn't imagine pleasing somebody by changing my opinions to theirs, for they would accept to be my friend then. Uh, I find it very distressing to be a cold and rude lemming, really. This is a cold land, though.

They say it's your own fault if you don't go with the flow, but I'd say it's rather witless to imply the "conditions" just because the crowd. After all, I've never actually understood the "hierarchy" among youth; luckily never been a part of it.

Whatever, I'm still drinking tea and looking far in the horizon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.