CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A buzzed buzzard

Looking up from writing my report on my computer, my eye caught some action in mid-air. I realised it was a crow having a go at a buzzard, and trying to keep it away from the nests and indeed the whole valley, which the many crows roosting near here like to call their own.

I grabbed the camera which luckily was beside me and managed three shots. Here (heavily cropped) you can see the buzzard reactions, having to fly upside down, with its talons pointing up to the heavens. Within seconds the buzzard had been forced away this time. It is a relentless saga for both these species. I think there is a pair of buzzards who seem ever present in this particular part of our two valleys, the Horns and the Golden Valley. Sometimes I see them just about fifty feet over our back garden, looking out for prey as usual.

NB
The land at the top of the steep slopes, about a quarter of a mile away, and on the far side of the LimeBrook which runs down the Horns valley, is called locally 'The Heavens'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.