The Memory Keeper

By athousandwords

Eres mi Bebe

When I volunteered in Peru last year, there was a 4 year old boy named Edwin who I fell 110% in love with. He used to demand that his tia (the woman who cared for him in the orphanage) carry him around everywhere like this (although he is a fair bit bigger than this little angel). Anyway, the girl I lived with and I, in a haze of premature nostalgia, decided to head out to the markets and find a blanket like Edwin's to each take home with us for when/ if we ever have kids of our own. Edwin's was blue, frayed and very well worn, but we decided to settle for yellow... Being a sunny colour and nothing to do with 'neutral shades.' Let's face it, how many of you would ever dress a baby boy in yellah?! And I know the pattern is a little garish and there are so many beautiful hand-woven blankets in Peru that I could have chosen from (like the one in the link), but they wouldn't have reminded me of Edwin in the same way. I'll try get a picture of him up here some time, maybe a photo of a photo... I'm sure I can find a way to sneak it in without the beady-eyed moderators seeing. He really is gorgeous!

Blah de blah, so I was cold last night and could think of nothing beter to curl up with than my very own baby blanket. This is it. In hindsight I could have just put on my dressing gown, but where's the sentiment in that?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.