Chaiselongue

Sunday in the garden reading and watching Lo Jardinièr dig while I sat in the sun in my chaise longue - well, we all have to do what we're good at. This is the origin of my name, first on my garden blog when I started it over three years ago, and for the last two years on Blip. It comes from an occasion when we first bought our garden here, about seven years ago, when our Spanish neighbour said that now we had a garden Lo Jardinièr could work there while I sat in a chaise longue with a glass of wine. He pronounced it in a Spanish way, with all the vowels, as chaisa longua, and this is how I always think of it. I thought that after two years of blipping under this name I should explain it, as it might also suggest a nineteenth-century seduction scene!

Today was the first time this year that this piece of garden furniture has made an appearance and the time I spent in it was marred only by a new neighbour in the next garden using a very noisy power tool to clear his ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.