a rich image

By richardhaas

Back in Action

The Wilmington Hammerheads were back in action after a one year hiatus. You see, two years ago, the team was sold to an unsavory character who never paid the players on time and sometimes paid them less than what was agreed upon. So the league took the franchise away from him, and too late for another owner to keep the team going. This second division team had been highly successful and had won the championship just before the rug was pulled from under them. Coach David Irving (who had once played on Everton) was also named coach of the year.

Well, the former owner hated seeing the team die, so he negotiated with some new partners (all physicians from the local hospital), purchased the team and put them back on the field.

Today, the Hammers played the Rochester Rinos and came away with a 1-0 victory. I found it difficult to take pictures because I was too wrapped up in the game. I left my new camera at home for fear I would have beer spilled on it. I didn't have to worry. The family oriented crowd was supportive and sober.

Closer Look

Goal



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.