All that is beautiful

By sharob

Perhaps ...

It's 4:30am, Storm has been awake since 2, she started with a cough ... Then progressed to crying. Gave her a 5oz bottle of milk and she settled ... For 5 minutes. Then really screamed. Got up, bought her into bed with me, lights off but she still decided to play 'sit up, lay down, giggle and sit up, lay down, giggle', then, she laid down and started waving her hand smacking me on the face. I waited for 10 minutes hoping she'd stop. She didn't. Put her back in bed with a bottle of water. 20 minutes later, screaming. Gave up. Got up, took her downstairs, let her play while I tried to snooze on the settee, Cinderellas carriage met my head. Gave up. Put her in her pushchair, gave her a cup of Cheerios, cleaned the kitchen, emptied the dishwasher, wiped all the counters, threw out the rubbish, swept the floor - considered mopping but didn't fancy wet feet. Made an 8oz bottle, took Storm to her room, changed her nappy, re-filled the nursery bag, let her play for 20 minutes, put her to bed. She's just chattering in her cot now.

I am tired. My work alarm is due to go at 6:50 and I will make breakfast, dress the children and then go to work, put up with stupid play ground nonsense and feel crap for a whole day. I. Can't. Wait.

Through all this, I need to keep it real. At least I have a baby to wake me at 2am. I could be cross, and shout at her and feel sorry for myself. What would it achieve? So, I'll try to go to sleep now, I can hear her mobile still singing away, we'll see what happens when it finishes ...

Isn't the moon beautiful tonight??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.