To Flash or not to Flash...

Over the last couple of months I've been trying to force/teach myself not to use the flash on my camera. This is the flip top flash on top of the camera, not an external flash gun.

I've just found that it is really hard to get nice even images whilst using flash.

Today, I found a natural light conditions where the flash actually produced a better picture than tinkering with settings to avoid using it.

I think the light was such that the background was lit up by sunlight coming through the window but I and my subject (Bethany, so no, this isn't the picture in question but rather a by-product of the same lighting conditions) were in the shadow in the corner of the room.

The flash lit up Bethany perfectly balancing her with the background.

I was quite chuffed as the rest of the pictures were rubbish.

ps. Cheesy 90s Stevan Seagul action movie, Execution Decision is on just now on the other channel from Lost. Both feature an airline named Oceanic. Wierd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.