Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Benched Bottle

"He took up his glass and sniffed at it. The stuff grew not less but more horrible with every mouthful he drank. But it had become the element he swam in. It was his life, his death, and his resurrection."

- George Orwell (1984)

On my way from the hospital to the train station I walked past this bench, and noticed that someone had left abandoned their bottle, wrapped tight in the cliched brown paper bag. Though I felt a right Charlie down on one knee squinting through the viewfinder at a discarded bottle on a bench (and consequently took only one hurried shot, not particularly well-composed), I did double back and take a shot.

Though I won't go so far as to call this an example of growth, it is worth noting the effect alcohol has on various growths.

This was taken with my Lumix, imported to my iPad, and I used the Camera Bag app to apply its "magazine" filter. Uploaded with the blipfoto iPhone app.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.