Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Open Skies

In the absence of anything else to shoot due to much busy-ness you get the latest object of excitement... a copy of Open Skies by Don McCullin. I think most of you will be aware of McCullin's work in war zones but he then moved onto landscape. I've been looking for a copy of this for a while now but they usually sell for daft money, I was happy to get this for 20 euros. The style he does is very reminiscent of a lot of the stuff some of my favourite blippers do (that really should be the other way round shouldn't it?).... dark brooding landscapes. I think I'll get a lot out of this book.

On a sadder note whilst I was waiting for this to load I saw on the BBC that Tim Hetherington has been killed in Libya. If you aren't familiar with his work then google Restrepo, an amazing bit of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.