Bonanza

By heybeans

Last visit to Las Guitarras

I visit Barcelona at least once a year, and until recently I always made my way to Casa Quimet, aka Las Guitarras, aka the Guitar Bar in Gracia. In mid-2009 it closed its doors forever . . . I still have plenty of great memories from my visits there, but I can't hear the walls speak any more.

Perhaps my favourite memory was when I went there with my friend Wagon Willy, a great guitar player. He asked El Jefe if he could play one of the dozens of guitars hung up around the place and El Jefe gave him a penetrating stare, as if sizing up his character. He then chose a guitar that he believed matched William's persona with the air of a tarot card reader telling someone their future.

More photos from some of my past visits to Las Guitarras:
2003
2007
2008

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.