PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

St Michael de Rupe

St Michael de Rupe sits on the top of Brent Tor which is apparently a dormant volcano. The 13th century church is the highest used church in the land.

This view is from the south, the view from the north is perhaps more dramatic, but was cast in shade. I also like the 2 wind sculpted hawthorns which give some balance to the shot.

Whilst not a church goer, I really enjoy this place. Walking around the old fort ramparts at the base, climbing the tor and exploring the graveyard is a great way to spend a morning. The church its self is a place of peace, sanctuary and calm.

Whilst trying to set up my Sony Alpha and 50mm lens for this shot, a chap with a absolutely, mahousive tripod starting setting up adjacent. From his suitcase sized bag he pulled out a freak of a camera, placed it on the tripod and hid under a towel. Having a bit of camera/tripod envy, I tried engaging him in conversation, it was apparently a large format film camera but he clearly did not want to chat, so I left him to wait for better light hiding under his towel quietly muttering 'miserable git' sotto voce. If a cracking, dramatic large format (whatever that is) shot of Brent Tor appears on here today, i would just like to point out that I chose the vantage point!!

I know that based on yesterdays votes polled - the granite tor might appear to have won... but in collating the results I have applied a modified AV voting system, to gain the result most convenient for me!

Tomorrow (or the next day, depending on orders I have not yet received) we will travel to Saltash to visit my Nan so will definetly see some granite then!

Thank you all for the supportive and appreciative comments you have all made about some of my recent efforts. Staying with the in laws at a moment, so my commenting is spoardic. I will catch up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.