Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Back o'Skiddaw

I've never been that inspired to visit the far Northern fells of the Lake District, not much beyond Skiddaw and Carrock fell at any rate. I mentioned this to a good friend recently who used to live in Cockermouth who turned to me disbelievingly saying 'oh! but the Northerns are lovely!'. She's right of course - but then I already know to trust her advice! Also a good choice for a busy bank holiday weekend. Clearly not that many people are in on the secret. I hate to imagine the hordes traipsing up Scafell Pike today. Actually, we did a Sca Fell today - but one of the back o'Skiddaw ones instead, and we had it to ourselves and the sky larks. Still this haze hangs thick. Cooler today tough, and perhaps a little clearer this evening. Not looking forward to being on call this weekend - but still, I couldn't have asked for a much better day, and six more Wainwrights to add to the collection as a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.