Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Back to School Again

As I might have mentioned before, I'm a great believer in continuing education, so I didn't mind spending a couple of hours in a classroom at the Bellingham Technical College on a sunny warm afternoon. It was not an easy class -- there was a lot of ground to be covered -- but I concentrated and was able to get through it without too much trouble. I even managed to take a few photos.

Here's the course outline from the BTC catalog:

England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales have a strong brewing tradition that continues to inspire craft brewers in America today. In this "Beers of the British Isles" class we will taste and discuss the history of beer styles from these countries, as well as, try their American variations. Ever wonder what E.S.B. or I.P.A. stands for, or what exactly is a "Wee Heavy"? After this class you'll be confident and ready to cruise the breweries of Great Britain and Ireland, or your local bottle shop, for your new favorite beers. Cheers, Slainte!

It was interesting to compare British and American versions of several beer styles, and the food pairings were excellent.

I'll wait until tomorrow to start on the homework.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.