alive to look

By pennultimate

St. Elmos Fire....

My place abuts another property called St. Elmos,built in 1881....
One of the reasons I bought my place,apart from love at first sight,was because St Elmos is on the National Trust register....they can't even cut a branch down without permission...and property developers will never be allowed to come along and stick a house where the garden is......and this grand old Oak is where its name came from,St Elmos fire...
In the old days,people came up here because the climate reminded them of old England (except when it gets into the 30's in Summer),and consequently planted many deciduous trees....and although our town is famous for it's Rhododendrons (every home that was built was given one by the council),it's the trees in Autumn and Spring that are also the show....hence my obsession.
St. Elmos was a Psychiatrist from Sydneys retirement home,and my place was his surgery....lucky me....I looked at 200 places over 2 years,and finally found it...that was 10 years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.