nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Brimstone Butterfly- RSPB Old Moor

Went to RSPB Old Moor today. It was boiling, it felt like Summer!

Amongst the usual wildfowl it was a nice urprise to see two Common Terns! I saw them land on the water, where they splashed about, bathing. Then they took off, shook their bodies, had a quick poo, and landed on a post.

We also saw Ringed and Little Ringed Plovers. In fact, it was the first LRP for me this year. I managed to spot the two Med' Gulls surprisingly easy. They stand out from the Black headed Gulls by actually having Black heads ( the latter has Brown) and by their blood red beak. They bred at Old Moor last year. In fact, I think it was the first time they had bred in Yorkshire ever, or at least for a long time..

The butterfly in the picture is a Brimstone. Im sure you'll agree when I say what a beautiful insect! Speaking of insects, I also saw my first damselfly of the year at OM today, though I didnt mange to ID it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.