Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Willow warbler

It's been a bit of an odd Easter Sunday. It's usually a family day with an egg hunt in the garden, whatever the weather. Despite being between 15 and 20, my three boys insist on one every year! But this year Chris was missing and it just wasn't the same.

Pete wanted to take advantage of the fine weather to do some survey work, so I took him to Orton Pit early this morning,and then had a long walk round with just my camera for company. It was almost deserted and I saw quite a lot of wildlife,including the first hairy dragonfly, green hairstreak and grizzled skipper of the year.

But in the end I liked this rather cheeky willow warbler best. Willow warblers and chiff-chaffs look very similar but their songs are very different. The willow warbler's song is a simple repetitive descending whistle. When they're not singing, the colour of the legs is supposedly diagnostic.Willow warblers are supposed to have pale legs, although in theis image the shade makes them look quite dark.

Later this afternoon we had a small egg hunt - there will be a much larger one when Chris and Lizzy are back. I'm picking them up from Heathrow tomorrow - so am quite excited (although I wish it wasn't a Bank Holiday!) The week ahead's looking very busy so I'm not sure whether I'll manage many comments - but I will look at all your journals in the odd quiet moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.