Easter Bells

I once had a German colleague who asked me to remind her of the English word for these flowers. When I told her they were daffodils, she said, "I knew it was some funny sounding word!" I had to agree that, when I thought about it, the word daffodil was kind of funny sounding. She told me the German word for them was Osterglocken -- literally "Easter bells." I am reminded of that conversation every year when I see the daffodils bloom. Even though Osterglocken is a German word, it seems much more descriptive, even to my ears, than the word daffodil. And just as Easter came late this year, so did our Easter bells.

Other than being woken up at the unholy hour of 5:30 so that someone could check her basket and hunt for eggs, we had a mellow day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.