Lali's World

By Lali

Story beginnings 12

"She was getting closer to finding the location of the secret cellar where all these bottles of that mysterious ancient malt whisky must have been kept. She was convinced that the bottles still existed, she wouldn't hear otherwise. She'd read that in 1764 a rich old merchant called James Mclaughlin had kept his homemade new spirit in casks which he had hidden in a cellar underneath a very old church, because he operated an illicit still and didn't want to get caught. Allegedly, he bottled that whisky himself a few years later in that same cellar, knowing that he was going to die soon. Unfortunately he died before he could sell any of the bottles. The only person who knew about the exact location of the cellar was his son, who had died soon afterwards.

All her research had led her to this location. But there was no church anywhere nearby. What a waste of time! Maybe this strange piece of writing on the wall was the clue... "I sleep where I fall" What could that mean if anything at all?"



Last of the series!!! I hope you have enjoyed my story beginnings.

I had a strange day at work today. I felt a bit grumpy because of the early start and it got a bit busier than I expected as well, which didn't help my mood. I was glad when it was over. I walked all the way back home because the weather was nice, and on Leith Walk I saw another incident today. The Moorish Style Furniture Shop had all their furniture in the street. There were three policement who where interrogating a few people nearby. Not a clue what the story was all about!

Never mind. Got a few things to do this evening but not the energy to do them. We'll see what I can get done.

Thanks very much for all your kind comments all along this series. I'll think about a new theme now. In the meantime, I'll have a break and just blip some random pictures.

Hope you all had a nice day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.