horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Blue Moggy

I've been getting my head around what we do in my new work a bit more recently. Essentially, in one transaction I've been getting involved in, one company (to whom we're linked, being in the same group) is looking after some of our virtual money, investing it virtually in, well, investments, where it (hopefully) makes more virtual money. This means that our virtual money pot gets bigger, while they take some of the virtual money and convert it into real money for looking after our virtual money.

I've never really got the idea of markets, and now I'm working somewhere where the movements within them of virtual money which never sees the light of day, which goes up and down in value without ever being anything tangible, can keep thousands of people in gainful employment. It's a business, an economy, based on a theory. Or a concept. A man-made contrivance which has possibly the greatest influence over the welfare of the world (excluding Mother Nature herself). A powerful entity which only exists in the minds of mathematical economists and complex, ever-changing spreadsheets. A matrix, if you will, of cascading figures that you need to learn to see the images within. A financial magic-eye picture.

I'm sure you get what I'm trying to say here. Some of the things I deal with don't exist, they aren't real, and yet they're worth multitudinous pounds and help fund my salary. A bit like Katie Price's talent.

Except she doesn't make me any money.

4 day weekend. Again. Woohoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.