In memory of Qian Liu

Qian Liu was an international student from China. Sadly, she was murdered at her off-campus flat near the University two weeks before graduation. A suspect was arrested a few days later and charged and remains in custody.

Today, I was tasked with taking photos for the family of the tree planting ceremony outside her former classroom. (I work in the international office and often take photos and write articles for York.) Her parents and an aunt and uncle were there as were her fellow students from the English language institute where they studied. The consul general of China was there, York's president spoke as did the institute's director, so many people came out for a moving ceremony on a rather cool and rainy day. Fortunately, the weather cooperated for a while as the events today unfolded.

As I was setting up prior to everyone's arrival, a small, young rabbit appeared at the steps just metres from the Oak tree and marker. I took a few snaps and carried on with my duties. It occurred to me that it is currently the Year of the Rabbit in Chinese culture and this gave me pause. The symbolism was moving. I did not know Qian Liu. I wish I did.

The rabbit, like Qian Liu, was with us for a short time. Moving quickly. Pausing for moments here and there. Curious. Fleeting. Then gone. Qian Liu's funeral was yesterday and my friend Martha wrote a touching article about it and the University's scholarship established in her honour. Qian Liu was only 23.

Love 'em while you got 'em.

April 29 update: Even more interesting and touching is the fact that Qian Liu was born in the Year of the Rabbit. Her parents were told of the rabbit's curious visit. They expressed their thanks for that information and took some comfort in it, too. Especially the mother.

May 02 update: Apparently, Qian's mother saw the rabbit. Martha wrote a nice YFILE story on the tree planting and included one of my rabbit photos(not this one).

Yesterday's blip: Coming soon: an Encounter with fine art

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.