nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Nice few hours in "the Lapwing field"

I planned to Blip the new planner, timetable and locker key we were given at school toady but then I went on a short walk to check on the Lapwings..

..At least I thought it would be quite short..

I arrived and was greeted spectacularly by a small flock of Starlings; the ultimate aerial displayers! The public footpath to the field was relatively quiet. I only paused a few times, just to watch the lollipop-shaped silhouettes of Long tailed tits flit by and allow the blackbirds to feed on the path in front of me..

When I entered my faviourite field I quickly found all the Lapwing parents on the nestsw, much quicker than I had done recently. This relieved me. I was worried that the nests had been disturbed or predated since my last few visits. The taller plant length just must have made it harder for me to find them.

As I was scanning, I also spotted the head and neck of a Grey Partridge, looking just like a Corncrake. Not that Ive been lucky enough to see one, though I might hear one when we go on holiday to the Isle of Skye during the Summer. Hopefully during my lifetime the distinctive "Crex crex" song will return to our everyday lives. And the trumpet of the Crane, the flambuoyant Great Bustard, the....

I then walked around the perimeter of the field. Accross the far end there is a small horse field that Ive never taken much attention to but now, in Spring, it was covered in wild flowers- Buttercups, vetches, trefoils, and a wonderful array of grasses.

Then, in this horse field, I found "my" Starling flock that I was watching earlier. They were feeding amongst the huge variety of wild flowers. Looking closer in the field I found another group of birds. They were quite hard to identify, mainly thanks to the tall grass and setting sun. A Kestrel flew overhead, scattering the flock of what I thought were Goldfinches. As they flew up I could see a black tail bar and white tail spots- Linnets!

I doubt I would have known they were Linnets if we hadnt gone to Spurn Point last Monday. There I had seen many Linnets, a bird I dont see too often, and therefore a bird Im not that familiar with.

Wow! I had found another species in "my" field! Linnets, like the Grey Partridge, Kestrel, Lapwing, Reed Bunting and Skylark, all of which this field has, are all classic farmland animals that are really in trouble.

Later I got better views of the Linnets, and watched them mob and annoy that male Kestrel. Actually, I felt quite sorry for the Kestrel. Im glad "my" Lapwings have an army of little birds to help protect their chicks!

Well, what a great few hours. Thats what I thought as I was walking back along the path, squinting for the Skylarks singing high up in the sky. Then I heard a noise which made the time even better- "Cuckoo, cuckoo, cuckoo!". I looked up and saw not one but two Cuckoos on the wing, a male and a female!

Incredible! A wnderful surprise! Hopefully they'll breed in the area too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.