fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Mom's bowl

This bowl sat on our kitchen window sill when I was a child. It sat there forever it seemed. At one time long long ago mom did use it for mixing and for fruit salads but mostly I remember it sitting on the kitchen window sill. Over time it became filled with useless odds and ends as these things so often do. The bowl was always chipped for as long as I can remember. After my folks died this bowl remained in place for almost another eight years. When I got things settled back there in Ohio two years ago I decided to keep this bowl. Not because it is a beauty or valuable ...but because it hold memories for me of my mom and the kitchen where it sat for all that time.

Here is what I found on line about the type of china it is-

--Vernonware is collectable California pottery and dinnerware made by Vernon Kilns in Vernon, California in the 1930's, 1940's and 1950's. Vernon Kilns was the successor to Poxon Pottery and China Co, which was sold to Faye Bennison in 1931 and renamed as Vernon Kilns. Vernon Kilns went out of business in 1958 and its molds and patterns were acquired by Metlox Pottery, which produced some of the Vernon Kilns shapes and patterns as well as new patterns on those shapes under a "Vernonware by Metlox" product line until Metlox went out of business in the 1970's.

Back blip of Pooters here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.