Blackford Pond

Hey Ho, another day with wall to wall sunshine and blue skies although a slightly chilling east wind keeping the temperatures lower than would be expected for the cloudless skies.

The presbyterian in me wonders what penalty will have to be made for this too wonderful weather. Make no mistake, payment will certainly be exacted. After all, when did it rain last? I don't count yesterday evening's lack lustre attempt at a shower. There will be divine retribution soon, mark my words.

The early morning sunshine teased me out of bed much earlier than of late, and I made a diversion on my ride round the marches to visit Blackford Pond.
The early sunlight had just reached the western end and the ducks were still sleeping on the paths and verges, while the two resident swans were just visible in their nest on the middle island.

I have known this pond all my life, being pushed round it in my pram and skating on it in bygone winters when it froze over, but it's usually full of small people and their parents and not quiet and still as it was this morning.

There was no-one else around and I had the place to myself before I hit the road and biked up to the Braids to view the city in it's early morning stillness.
Although misty towards East Lothian, it was clear with a deepening blue sky towards Fife and the west.

Now the Meadows are full of sun worshippers and picnickers, and being bombarded with unpleasantly loud amplified music of a distinctly student discord, while I prepare a meal for our visitors this evening.

It will be a good evening, I can tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.