PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Charming

Watching all the pomp and pagentry of yesterday's Royal Wedding inspired me to dig out my rarely worn, but much treasured, silver charm bracelet, to admire again the tiny, detailed charm of Westminster Abbey.

As I was born in the year of the queen's coronation (no, not Queen Victoria!), my aunt-cum-godmother celebrated my birth by sending me a charm of the Coronation coach. Thereafter, on each of my birthdays, she sent me, first the bracelet, and then a new charm to add to it each year.

This is a close-up of just part of the bracelet. It includes charms given by others, too. As well as Westminster Abbey and the Coronation coach, can you spot the old fashioned telephone, a spaniel, a washer woman (with moving parts), Aladdin's lamp, the key of the door, a double bass (that opens to reveal an oil can!), a pair of scissors (that I soon discovered really will cut tissue paper!), a penny-farthing bicycle and a spinning wheel? The tankard, with its hinged lid, was a present from my parents on a trip to Germany, and the stork and baby - well, that was a gift from my husband over thirty years ago.

Jingle-jangle, silver charms,
Impressive when I fold my arms,
Which is to say, they leave their mark*:
Indented flesh-charms, deep and dark!

*Some, of course, could be dubbed London landmarks!

EDIT: to add 'sewing machine' to the list above. Well spotted emh! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.