secret garden

By freespiral

Kinneigh round tower

Airport duty today as son number 1 returns after a great week - fab weather, loads of walking and fresh air, picnics and a general relaxed time. He took a few blips himself and I meant to do a link to his journal yesterday but forgot so here it is today. he's as yet only an occasional blipper, mostly when in Ireland. He's going to be very cheesed off though, for guess where I've found his camera card - in my laptop!

On my way home I did a detour to check out Kinneigh round tower. Kinneigh is famous as being the only hexagonal based round tower in the whole of Ireland. There is a bit of a family thing about this. The first time we visited Ireland, about 16 years ago, I had an action-packed itinerary, as is my wont, and this was on it. Himself was driving and I was map reading - it took us blooming ages to find and when we finally arrived it was lashing. The family duly disembarked and were seriously under-whelmed!! Well I was impressed but now you only have to mention round towers and they disappear smartish! Today the sun was shining and it is impressive and it does have a hexagonal base, nicely positioned on a bit of rock. It's 11C, five storeys high and was probably a bell tower.

Beign footloose and fancy free I also dropped in on a wedge tomb in a field and took a tortuous tiny windy road up to Kealkil stone circle only to find it surrounded by cattle, including a bull, I did not venture in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.